Liability Insurance: Understanding Limits and Requirements
When shopping for liability insurance Colorado residents need to be aware of the state requirements. Based on the law, most states actually require specific types of coverage that is within the minimum liability limits.
What are the requirements for Bodily Injury Liability?
In line with this, there are a lot of insurers who recommend that the bodily injury liability should be at least $100,000 for every person and $300,000 for every occurrence when it comes to bodily injury.
Basically, people would definitely wonder how much insurance they would need.
The law in Colorado mandates that the auto insurance policies should provide the following:
For bodily injury liability insurance Colorado coverage, it will cover accidents that a person causes where another person is hurt or perhaps killed. According to the laws of Colorado, the limit is $25,000 for every person and $50,000 for every accident for bodily injury.
For this type of coverage, it is ideal to have at least $100,000 for every person and $300,000 for every occurrence. In line with this, one must consider the assets that must be protected and the amount that one can afford before deciding on what to purchase.
What are the requirements for Property Damage Liability?
If you are in an accident consider calling Firestone for your repairs. When it comes to property damage coverage, this will cover when one damages another person’s property. Typically, this will be another person’s car. However, this can also apply to buildings, garage doors, utility poles, and other types of physical properties.
For this coverage, state laws will determine the minimum that a person must purchase. According to the Colorado law, the required limit is around $15,000 for every occurrence.
For a sr22 click here.
What is Uninsured Motorist Protection?
For underinsured or uninsured motorist coverage, this will cover medical as well as other expenses whenever one is hit by a driver who does not have adequate auto insurance.
Uninsured motorist bodily injury protection, helps protect you and your passengers medically if you are hit by another driver, and they are found to be the one at fault, and they either do not have an active insurance policy or maybe carrying liability limits lower than your policy.
Once you have uninsured motorist bodily injury protection, you can also purchase uninsured motorist property damage protection. This coverage will protect damage done to your vehicle if it is hit by an uninsured person, or possibly a hit and run accident.
A person may purchase added coverage to pay for the damage to one’s car if it is hit by an uninsured motorist. However, most will purchase collision as well as comprehensive instead.
Just Liability Insurance Colorado
In Colorado, the insurers are actually required to offer under-insured or uninsured motorist coverage in the same amount as that of bodily injury liability insurance Colorado limits that a person selects. This type of coverage may be waived only if this is rejected in writing. The limit that must be selected starts at $25,000 or $50,000, which is the same amount of the minimum liability limit in Colorado.
Most people opt to carry this since this can actually cover economic damages like medical bills and non-economic damages for cases wherein the other person in the accident is uninsured and under-insured.
For Colorado Liability insurance Call 719 392 4000 or 303 355 2337.
Serving Denver, Colorado Springs, Pueblo, Fort Collins, Aurora, and the entire state of Colorado.
More Frequently Asked Questions
|Other Insurance Guides by City|
|Car Insurance Elgin|
|Auto Insurance Pueblo|
|Cheap Car Insurance Wasilla|
|Auto Insurance South Carolina|
|Insurance Colorado Springs|
|Car Insurance Spartanburg|
|Insurance Rock Hill|
Last Updated on July 19, 2021 by Katie Sopko