Insurance Virginia
Let Us Help You Fall in Love with Virginia Car Insurance!

Best Car Insurance Virginia

Home to many Presidential residences…if you’re looking for insurance in Virginia….and you want presidential insurance but not one the size of the national debt…you’ve come to the right place! At A Plus we will work together on your Virginia Insurance to veto high rates and elect a premium that is perfect for your needs!

Virginia Car Insurance:

State Minimum Requirements

$30,000 in bodily injury per person, 60,000 in total bodily injury per accident, 20,000 in property damage per accident.

Every now and again however a states laws shift that require rate increases across the board. This is the case for the beautiful state of Virginia the birth place of our nation.

In January of 2021, Virginia passed the Senate Bill 1182.

This increases the minimum liability limits required by the state from: $30,000 in bodily injury per person, $60,000 in total bodily injury per accident, $20,000 in property damage per accident

TO

$30,000 in bodily injury per person, $60,000 in total bodily injury per accident, $20,000 in property damage per accident.

Rates WILL increase with your Virginia Insurance. You may be here because you have been affected as of January 1, 2022. The good news is that you are in the right place! Here at A Plus Insurance we cal work together to find a rate at the State Minimum that will keep you covered.

Insurance adds peace of mind, and we want the search for insurance to be as peaceful as possible. In 15 minutes you can have a FREE QUOTE with one of our friendly agents!

Before You Dig In…

Let’s Learn Some Insurance Terms

A Plus Glossary 2
2024 Insurance Virginia

Do you fully understand what liability covers? What about all the other optional coverages like comprehensive, collision, or medical payments? Do you really know what full coverage includes? Brush up on your terminology…understanding these words helps you make better choices when purchasing Virginia car insurance.

Virginia Car Insurance

How Much Coverage Do You Need?

Now that you know what the state minimum requirements are for car insurance in Virginia and other available options; how do you determine which is best for you?

Full coverage is a great option for those who can’t afford to repair or replace their vehicle from things like hail damage, a cracked windshield, or an at-fault accident. Full coverage is NOT required by the state, however it can be required by financial institutions and lienholders.

An additional coverage that is not included in full coverage, but can save you a lot time and frustration is roadside assistance.

If you never want to end up stranded on the side of the road it’s a must have. Whether you run out of gas, need help changing a tire, or your car breaks down and you need a tow. Roadside is meant to save you time and more importantly money. If you have ever run out of gas before, you probably understand why it’s a great add on.

Liability is great for older vehicles, vehicles that you don’t drive often, or if you just need cheaper insurance!

Average Monthly Rates for
Liability Only or Full Coverage

Liability OnlyInsurance CompanyFull Coverage
$83Dairyland$75
$86Progressive$152
$120Travelers$164
$120Bristol West$152
$113The General$162
$105Mendota$152

Insurance Virginia Auto Insurance

Do you know why Virginia is for Lovers?

It originally started in 1968 when an advertising agency won a contract for Virginia State Travel Agency. While brainstorming they came up with a series of ads. History ads, “Virginia is for History Lovers”; beach ads, “Virginia is for Beach Lovers”; nature ads, “Virginia is for Nature Lovers.” However they found that they we’re to limiting and chose to go with the current slogan, “Virginia is for Lovers” which was adopted officially in 1969.

Let one of our skilled agents help find the coverage you need at a price that doesn’t break the bank! They’re so great, they’ll make you love insurance!

Auto Insurance Virginia

Liability Only Vs. Full Coverage:

See What Your Rates Could Look Like Now!


Cheapest Car Insurance For Female Drivers: Insurance Virginia

In Virginia it is Illegal to tickle woman, shouldn’t that be a law around the nation?

Interesting, around the nation Men pay more for their insurance than females because statistically they are a higher risk. Tell that to the hubby!

NOTE IN THE CHART: The rate gap for insurance by gender is almost tied in Virginia typically. Age plays a bigger factor.

Insurance Virginia: Average Monthly Rates For Female Drivers

Car Insurance CompanyAverage Monthly Payment
Acceptance RTR$135
Mendota$136
Dairyland$140
Assurance America$141
The General$143

New A Plus Insurance Customers in Virginia Save on Average $603…that’s almost 853 pounds of potatoes

Cheapest Auto Insurance With DUIs, Accidents, and Violations in Virginia

Under Virginia Code 18.2-266 an individual convicted of a DUI is required to prove financial responsiblity before their driving privileges are returned with a FR-44.

This shakes out to higher insurance rates because an individual with serious moving violations is considered by most insurance carriers as high risk. At A Plus Insurance we can work together to find a rate that won’t leave you stranded on the Appalachian Trail.

NOTE IN CHART: The code requires you to carry FR-44 for 3 years after your license revocation is over

What is the new state minimum liability limits in Virginia?

Insurance Virginia: Average Monthly Rates With Violations on Your Record

Car Insurance CompanyAverage Monthly Payment
21st Century$154
GEICO$155
Dairyland$161
Assurance America$166
Bristol West$170

Best SR-22 Insurance In Virginia

In Virginia if you’ve been convicted of a serious moving violation you will need a SR-22 or a FR-44.

What’s the difference between SR22 and FR44 insurance? Virginia is one of two states with two types of license reinstatement certificate. An SR22 insurance certificate is for non-alcohol related motor vehicle violations. The FR44 insurance certificate is for DUI or DWI violations.

When you’re eligible for reinstatement, you’ll contact an insurance provider to buy an SR22 or FR44 certificate. If the vehicle is owned by you, the certificate is attached to your auto insurance policy. In the case that you do not own the vehicle being operated, the certificate is attached to a non-owner SR22 or FR44 insurance policy.

Virginia Insurance with these certificates do not have to break the bank, shopping around is Key.

CHART NOTE: Both FR-44 AND SR-22 ARE REQUIRED FOR 3 YEARS

Average Monthly Rates With SR-22 Insurance Virginia

Car Insurance CompanyAverage Monthly Payment
Progressive $102
Bristol West$103
Acceptance RTR$105
National General$108
The General$108
Insurance Virginia

WHY DO INSURANCE RATES CHANGE?

There are many reasons why an insurance rate could increase or decrease:

1. Perhaps you require a policy change by adding a car or driver,

2. Or maybe a moving vehicle violation causes a spike in your premium,

3. A move to a different city,

4. Or you age up past 25

.. just to name a few.

Least Expensive Insurance For Young Drivers in Richmond, VA

Dirty Dancing was a tale about two young kids being young and wild and free! Their insurance probably was not free in the slightest.

It is a fact the adults under the age of 25 tend to pay higher rates, even still their are affordable options for your Virginia Insurance.

NOTE IN CHART: after crossing 25 with a great record, most insurance rates will automatically decrease upon renewal.

Insurance Virginia Average Monthly Rates For Young Drivers

Car Insurance CompanyAverage Monthly Payment
Progressive $136
National General$139
American Family$154
Liberty Mutual$155
Dairyland$157
Auto Insurance Virginia

Cheapest Insurance With Bad or Poor Credit In Virginia


Did you know it is illegal to flip a coin to decide who pays for coffee in Richmond? Don’t flip a coin when it comes to your insurance rates.

This is a gamble that doesn’t pay off, bet on us here at A Plus! Even though your credit score does impact the premium you will pay for Insurance in Virginia it is possible make make heads or tails of the situation.

NOTE IN CHART: improving credit over time will improve your rates

Insurance Virginia Average Monthly Rates For People With Bad or Poor Credit

Car Insurance CompanyAverage Monthly Payment
Dairyland$146
Bristol West$154
Mendota$162
21st Century$168
Assurance America$169

Insurance Virginia Cheapest Car Insurance With a Homeowners Bundle/Discount


The State bird of Virginia is the Cardinal. And a cardinal rule in insurance to score a better rate are discounts!

Bundle your Auto and Home to save big with your Virginia Insurance!

Insurance Virginia Average Monthly Rates For People a Homeowners Bundle

Car Insurance CompanyAverage Monthly Payment
Dairyland$128
21st Century$129
GEICO$130
Progressive$134
The General$137

Insurance Virginia Cheapest Car Insurance For Male Drivers

The way to a man’s heart is through the belly, and a Brunswick Stew will do just the trick. However traditionally insurance rates if you’re a male driver aren’t warming your belly.

Interestingly in Virginia the numbers are so close it’s hard to give any gender the advantage. In either case the key is simply, let us shop for you!

Insurance Virginia Average Monthly Rates For Male Drivers

Car Insurance CompanyAverage Monthly Payment
Acceptance RTR$157
Bristol West$160
GEICO$164
Nationwide$164
Assurance America$165

Additional Helpful Links

SR22 Insurance Virginia
Liability Only Insurance Virginia
Homeowners Insurance Virginia
Motorcycle Insurance Virginia
Virginia DMV
Virginia Insurance Laws

INSURANCE SERVICES WE OFFER

Welcome Center Free Auto Insurance Quote
2024 Insurance Virginia

Don’t give up…we can help you find affordable rates, need an SR-22? We got you!

Welcome Center Homeowners And Renters Insurance
2024 Insurance Virginia

Homeowners, renters, and mobile home owners: make sure you have the protection you need.

Welcome Center Other Insurance Quotes
2024 Insurance Virginia

Motorcycles, RVs, ATVs, life insurance, you name it…we can help!

FAQs About Virginia Car Insurance

What are the minimum car insurance requirements in Virginia?

In Virginia, the minimum car insurance requirements include $25,000 for bodily injury or death per person, $50,000 for bodily injury or death per accident, and $20,000 for property damage per accident. These coverage limits are often referred to as 25/50/20.

Is uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage required in Virginia?

Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage (UM/UIM) is not mandatory in Virginia, but it’s highly recommended. It provides protection in case you’re involved in an accident with a driver who doesn’t have insurance or enough insurance to cover your expenses.

How can I find affordable car insurance rates in Virginia?

To find affordable car insurance rates in Virginia, consider shopping around, bundling policies, maintaining a good driving record, taking advantage of discounts, and adjusting your coverage levels. Your insurance agent can help you explore these options.

Edit Article Information

Here you can edit the information about South Insurance in Virginia.

  • Explore insurance options in Virginia with South Insurance.
  • Learn about coverage, rates, and discounts available.
  • For inquiries or quotes, call us at 1.888.445.2793.

Last Updated on by Lauren Mckenzie

Spread the love
Scroll to Top