Louisiana Liability Insurance

Need Cheap Insurance in Louisiana? Liability Only Insurance Might Be Your Answer

Louisiana Insurance Laws for Minimum Liability:

15/30/25

veronica.face By Veronica Moss | Licensed Agent at Learnandserve.org | Powered by A Plus Insurance

Understanding Louisiana Insurance Laws

No matter how badly you might want cheap insurance in Louisiana, you must be in compliance with the Louisiana insurance laws in order to drive legally on the road.

If you are caught driving without at least the state minimum required liability limits, you could be slapped with a hefty fine, have your car impounded, or your driver’s license revoked.

The bare minimum liability requirements for Louisiana are as follows:

Louisiana State MinimumPersonal Injury Protection?Medical Payments?Uninsured Motorist Coverage
15/30/25Not RequiredNot RequiredNot Required
If a driver doesn’t choose to add on medical payments or uninsured/underinsured coverage, they must sign a rejection form.

Liability Car Insurance Limits: How to read

When you see the liability limits written as 15/30/25, these are called split limits. These are the amounts you must be able to pay out to the other party in case you are found liable or at fault. Each number represents the required amount of coverage necessary in order to be compliant with Louisiana insurance laws:

$15,000 coverage required for bodily injury, per person.

$30,000 coverage required for bodily injury, per accident/maximum amount that the insurance company will pay in total for entire cost of injuries if you are at fault.

$25,000 coverage required for property damage.

Is Louisiana a No-Fault State?

Louisiana is NOT considered a no-fault state, rather, Louisiana is an at-fault (or tort) state.

Many people wonder whether or not their state is considered a no-fault or at-fault state (tort state).

A state that is considered a “tort” state or at-fault, means that drivers will be financially responsible for paying the other driver’s medical bills if they caused the accident.

In states that are considered no-fault states, everyone is required to carry personal injury protection coverage, and regardless of who is at fault, EVERYONE must file a claim with their own insurance company.

Since Louisiana is considered an at-fault state, many drivers consider adding on Medical payments coverage to their Louisiana liability insurance policy, even thought it’s not technically required.

medical payments

Medical Payments Coverage/MedPay: This additional coverage (not required legally by the state of Louisiana) can help pay for medical bills and other medical expenses for yourself and any passengers in your vehicle, regardless of who is at fault. At the time of purchasing your policy, you would set a monetary amount which would be the amount used to cover medical expenses at the time of the claim.

Cheap Insurance In Louisiana: Is Liability Only Enough Coverage?

While many people’s first concern is about having a low monthly bill, it’s good to think about if your coverages are adequate.

Louisiana liability insurance might be more than enough for some drivers in the following instances:

  • You work from home and only drive on rare occasions
  • Your vehicle is older and the value isn’t worth paying a deductible for comprehensive and collision
  • You don’t own a vehicle, and only borrow vehicles on occasion (consider a non owners or broad form policy if this is the case).
  • You need the bare minimum insurance simply to get your license reinstated or need to add an SR22.

If however, you find the following scenarios to be your situation, you might want to consider adding full coverage, or at the very least upping your liability limits from the state minimum requirement.

  • Your vehicle is new or has a high value
  • You are leasing or have a lienholder on your automobile
  • You drive often and find yourself putting high mileage on your vehicle
  • You drive for a rideshare company like uber or lyft
  • You use your vehicle for business purposes and need a commercial policy

Should I add Uninsured Motorist Coverage to My Louisiana Liability Insurance Policy?

As mentioned above, there are certain instances where extra coverage is not necessary, nor should be much of a concern.

However, while Louisiana does not legally require you to add uninsured motorist coverage or underinsured, it’s something to strongly consider.

First, what is Uninsured and Underinsured Coverage (UM/UIM)? This coverage is mandatory in many states, but Louisiana has not yet made it a requirement. UM/UIM helps provide coverage to the insured and anyone in the vehicle at the time of an accident, in the case of a hit and run, or if they are hit by someone without insurance or adequate coverage.

This coverage offers additional peace of mind, since you cannot control other drivers or their amount of insurance coverage.

The Chances You Are Taking without Uninsured Motorist Coverage

uninsured motorist coverage
Consider protecting yourself from uninsured drivers

Nearly 15% of drivers in Louisiana do not have ANY insurance on their vehicle

40% of drivers in Louisiana only carry the state minimum liability insurance, which means they can only cover $15,000 per person for bodily injury costs, and $25,000 for property damage costs.

Louisiana Liability Insurance Sample Rates

So what does a Louisiana liability insurance policy look like?

With insurance, there is simply no one size fits all policy. There are numerous factors that determine what a person’s auto insurance rates will be. And one person’s insurance policy might look VERY different from another’s even with the same coverages.

However, across the board, liability only insurance will always be cheaper than full coverage. Here’s what that might look like:

Auto Insurance CompanyAvg. Monthly Rate Liability OnlyAvg. Monthly Rate Full Coverage
Dairyland$75$145
Mendota Ins. Company$88$135
The General$96$130
AssuranceAmerica$101$145
National General$104$140
Progressive Insurance$108$155
Acceptance RTR$111$145
21st Century$119$140
Bristol West$124$160
USAA$126$140
State Auto$128$175
Allstate$129$160
Nationwide$132$145
GAINSCO$137$150
Geico$137$150
Avg. Liability Only Insurance Vs. Full Coverage

Louisiana Liability Insurance Average Cost

As mentioned above, there are many rating factors that will affect the cost of your insurance premiums.

For example, have you had continuous insurance without any lapse, your policy might be much less than someone who has not had any insurance in place over time.

Also, the value of your vehicle will greatly impact the amount of your insurance rates. Understandably, the higher the value, the higher your premium.

Even your age plays a big part in your rates. The younger you are, the higher your policy premium will be.

Take a look at our calculator below and estimate what your rates might look like:

Insurance Cost Estimator


How to Get Cheap Insurance In Louisiana with Discounts

If your situation or circumstances require you to have higher than what’s legally required, there are still many ways to lower your rates.

Even with full coverage or high liability limits, you can still have cheap insurance.

Insurance discounts make this a possibility, and some are discounts that almost anyone can qualify for such as the paperless or autopay discount.

Be sure to ask your insurance agent about the following discounts, and if you can add it to your policy:

Progressive Insurance Discounts
No Accidents or Violations
Military
Multi Vehicle
Paid in Full
Multi Policy
Homeowners
Married
Education Discount
Advanced Quote
Auto Pay
Paperless Discount
Continuous Insurance
Dairyland Insurance Discounts
Married
Multi Policy
Multi Vehicle
Auto Pay
Military
Paid in Full
Continuous Insurance
No Accidents or Violations
Homeowners
Travelers Insurance Discounts
Married
Auto Pay
Multi Vehicle
Homeowners
Multi Policy
Paid in Full
No Accidents or Violations
Continuous Insurance
The General Insurance Discounts
Married
Multi Vehicle
Auto Pay
No Accidents or Violations
Homeowners
Paid in Full
Continuous Insurance

OTHER LOUISIANA INSURANCE GUIDES

louisiana liability insurance

Your Complete Guide to Auto Insurance In Louisiana

Last Updated on by Veronica Moss