Arkansas

Liability Car Insurance Arkansas: How to Get the Cheapest Rates

KEYWORDS KEYWORDS KEYWORDS!!!

Minimum Liability Requirements for Arkansas

25/50/25

By Danielle Deshong | Licensed Agent/CSR at Learnandserve.org | Powered by A Plus Insurance

Liability Insurance Arkansas: What is Liability Car Insurance?

Liability insurance is mandatory in almost all states, its a requirement on an insured vehicle.

What is liability?

Liability insurance is an important, and usually required, coverage on your auto insurance policy. If you are deemed at fault in a car accident, and are the cause of bodily injury and property damage expenses, you are legally responsible to cover that cost.

When insuring a motor vehicle in Arkansas, you must be sure to adhere to the Arkansas car insurance laws. At the very least, your insurance policy must have the following liability limits included:

Liability LimitsPersonal Injury Protection*Medical PaymentsUM/UIM?*
25/50/25Not Required, as Arkansas is an “at fault state”Not Required, must sign a rejection form.Not Required, must sign a rejection form.
While medical payments and uninsured motorist coverage is not technically required, the insurance agent MUST at least offer it to you.

While you only need to carry the Arkansas state minimum, you can still add on additional coverages to your liability portion of the policy such as:

  • medical payments,
  • uninsured motorist coverage
  • underinsured motorist coverage
  • comprehensive and collision

Is Arkansas a no fault state?

No. Arkansas is considered an an “at fault” state. If your state is considered “at fault,” that means that if an accident occurs, liability or fault must be determined. Whoever is determined at fault will then be responsible for covering the costs of any injury or property damages.

Is Uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage (also known as UM/UIM) required in Arkansas?

Uninsured motorist (UM) coverage will cover the cost of bodily injury or property damage caused by another driver who does not have insurance, or if you are the victim of a hit and run. Underinsured (UIM) will help offset the costs if someone else is at fault and their liability insurance isn’t sufficient. This coverage is not technically required in Arkansas, but many states do require it, as it is highly recommended.

Liability Insurance in Arkansas: Is it the only Way to Get Cheap Car Insurance?

Is having liability only coverage the only way to get cheap car insurance in Arkansas?

No, there are other ways to decrease your yearly or monthly car insurance premiums.

However, having liability insurance only on the vehicle can make payments cheaper, especially when you compare some average monthly rates to average full coverage rates.

Insurance CompanyAvg. Monthly Liability OnlyAvg. Monthly Full Coverage
Dairyland$81$134
Geico$93$168
Progressive$99$136
Assurance America$101$160
General$104$182
Acceptance RTR$105$164
National General$106$151
Mendota$108$163
Bristol West$109$132
American Family$112$186
Safeco$116 $208
21 Century$139$172
USAA$139$178
State Auto$140$180
Gainsco$146$167
Liberty$149$178
Travelers $149$209
Famers $151$146
State Farm$151$203
Nationwide$153$163
AA State $164$174
These are not a guaranteed Numbers but it’s a rough estimate on what to expect.

How can you be able to choose between liability insurance in Arkansas Vs Full coverage insurance in Arkansas?

This Q&A will help you decide on making that decision.

Should I Get Full CoverageCalculator


What possible discounts can you get through each carrier?

Each carrier has their own providable discounts to help lower your payments. When talking to an agent, make sure you ask them about potential discounts you might qualify for!

Potential Auto Insurance Discounts
Advanced Quote
Paid in Full
Auto Pay
Multi Policy
Multi Vehicle
Married
No Accidents or Violations
Continuous Insurance
Homeowners
Military
Education Discount
Paperless Discount
Liability Car insurance Arkansas: Discounts vary from state to state, and from insurance company to company

Liability Car Insurance Arkansas: Can I Upgrade My Policy Later?

If you are wanting to upgrade your policy, just give your agent a call!

Most insurance companies will let you add on extra coverages like comprehensive and collision, at any point during your policy period.

Do keep in mind however, that there are a few companies who won’t let you upgrade until the policy period is over.

Also remember that upgrading your policy or adding more coverages WILL likely increase your premium.

OTHER HELPFUL LINKS FOR INSURANCE IN ARKANSAS

Last Updated on by danielle Deshong