Let Us Do the Shopping For You
Motorcycle Insurance Tennessee
START HERE: $25,000 for death or bodily injury to one person. $50,000 for death or bodily injury to two or more persons. $25,000 for damage or destruction of property.
- Motorcycle Insurance Tennessee
- Motorcycle Insurance Tennessee: Cost of Liability Only
- Motorcycle Insurance Tennessee: How Do You Get a Motorcycle License?
- Motorcycle Insurance Tennessee: Laws You Need to Know
- Motorcycle Insurance in Tennessee: Cost of Full Coverage
- Motorcycle Insurance Tennessee: Rating Factors
- Motorcycle Insurance Tennesse: Cheapest Rates by City
- Motorcycle Insurance Tennessee: Motorcycle Safety Tips
- Motorcycle insurance Tennessee: Which Companies offer Motorcycle Insurance?
- Motorcycle insurance Tennessee: Frequently Asked Questions
- Other Helpful Tennessee Insurance Guides
HERE is what the monthly rate could look like for your liability only insurance in Tennessee
Motorcycle Insurance Tennessee: Cost of Liability Only
|Company||Liability ( Average)|
Each state has a minimum liability insurance requirement. This is a protection for you and your fellow drivers that everyone is covered!
Or at least they should be. Fines for driving without insurance are hefty!
Now that the legal fuss is out of the way concerning motorcycle insurance Tennessee style, HOW do you get a motorcycle license in Tennessee?
Motorcycle Insurance Tennessee: How Do You Get a Motorcycle License?
Like James Bond, you need a license to operate! A Class M license to be exact.
In the Great state of Tennessee this license classification grants a rider 16 years or older the privilege of operating a sweet bike…. I mean a motorcycle over 50cc. So how do you acquire this license to take to the streets on a crotch-rocket? Apply!
An individual applying for the Class M License, also called XM license (which stands for X-TREME MOVING License! Kidding…we’re not sure what the XM stands for..), should obtain and read the Motorcycle Operator Manual which is available at all DMVs in Tennessee.
You’ll then need to apply at any Full-Service Driver Service Center located throughout TN.
Lastly, you must complete a written and riding test. Mission Accomplished! You are licensed to cruise, not unlike Tom Cruise in Mission Impossible 2.
Pick up the driver study guide to get you ready, not just the motorcycle manual.
If you already have a CLASS D or PD license your exam will be a written and riding test, with a vision screening concluding with a pre-trip inspection.
If you do not have a regular license, then you’ll need one first. Gotta walk before you can crawl! Wait… other way around..
Motorcycle Insurance Tennessee: Laws You Need to Know
According to SteelHorse Law there are 7 essential laws to know about motorcycle operation. We have compiled them all here for you so that you are Fully equipped!
- You must have motorcycle insurance! Well how about that?! We didn’t even pay SteelHorse Law to put this at number one. It is true! You will be required to show proof of insurance to register a motorcycle in the first place. This is a critical first step and a law. CALL US NOW!
- Age aint nuthin but a number.. That may be true, but you must be 16 years of age or older to operate a motorized bike 50cc or over.
- Motorcycle license! Above, we broke down how to acquire one, but here we need to highlight that without it you could receive serious fines, penalty points, and your motorcycle impounded.
- HELMET UP! The Law in Tennessee stipulates that all riders and passengers MUST wear a motorcycle helmet. I know…. you may be thinking, “Boooo, this cramps my style yo.” And if you speak like that generally, please stop. But regardless, it protects you in the case of an accident. Maybe you feel like it infringes on your rights? Well, just wear one ok? Because if you don’t the fine is $50.00 and up to 30 days in jail. That helmet sounds good now, huh?
- Passenger gear required! A passenger must be equipped with seating and footrests. Come on… they are already putting their life in your hands. At least give em somewhere to put their feet!
- GEAR! Tennessee Law requires all motorcycles to have both left and right-side mirrors and mufflers. Double your mirrors, double the fun! Double your mufflers, don’t be a stuffler! Sorry… I’ll stop. Headlights, tailgates, and brake lights are all required.
- Is lane splitting legal? Well we don’t wanna ‘split hairs’ but no. It is Illegal. I know.. tempting… but don’t. The Code indicates that “the operator of a motorcycle shall not overtake and pass in the same lane occupied by the vehicle being overtaken.” This is the way!
Motorcycle Insurance in Tennessee: Cost of Full Coverage
Ducati? Harley? If you are making payments on your new toy, it might be prudent to opt for full coverage! What is full coverage?
It is adding Comprehensive and Collision to your insurance policy.
While Liability Only covers damages you inflict on others in an accident so that you are not left with a stiff bill, and the liability insurance of others covers damages to you if they’re at fault….Comprehensive and Collision are for those other damages.
Theft, animal damage (Pikachu!), weather damages, etc.
In most cases, adding these coverage options do not drastically hurt the monthly premium.
Motorcycle Insurance Tennessee: Rating Factors
A multitude of factors impact your rate, some of these factors you can control while others not so much.
In either case, it is good to know why and how your rates are determined.
Below is a chart of rating factors that contribute to either a higher rate or the perfect rate for you.
|Type of bike (engine size|
Motorcycle Insurance Tennesse: Cheapest Rates by City
Location as seen above is a rating factor. The more populous a city the more the insurance costs are. Why?
Well, a more congested locale means that you have a better chance of getting into a collision.
It is a numbers game, plan and simple.
Obviously a less congested area will be cheaper. Find your city in Tennessee below!
Motorcycle Insurance Tennessee: Motorcycle Safety Tips
The main tip we have for you from A Plus Insurance is to just make yourself seen.
Remember zipping around and lane-splitting is illegal for a reason. Following the law can save your life. Thus, take added caution and make sure you are seen before changing lanes or turning.
Wear protective gear, perhaps some with reflective bits or other fluorescent material when riding at night.
When you melt it down, the best safety tip for a motorcycle operator is making sure all of your fellow drivers know you are there.
The now popular adage, ‘look twice, save a life’, is connected with the safety of bikers. Thus, when a Rider makes himself visible and drivers make the effort to look twice, everyone can contribute to the safety of Motorcyclists in Tennessee.
Lastly, have fun!
Motorcycle insurance Tennessee: Which Companies offer Motorcycle Insurance?
Here at A Plus Insurance we work with some of the best! You’ll find the best rates with Dairyland and Progressive!
But, we are interested in a great rate for you. Whether that is with us or not. With that in mind Geico may just offer better rates in some instances.
Motorcycle insurance Tennessee: Frequently Asked Questions
How much is motorcycle insurance in Tennessee with SR22?
|Company||SR22 Liability (Average)|
How much is motorcycle insurance for first time riders?
This rating factor can certainly have an impact on the rate, but not as much as you’d think. Of course all the rating factors mix to create a rate. So… how much experience do you have, do you need full coverage, are you 18 or 58? Blanket rates don’t exist. But experience leads to savings.
Why is motorcycle insurance so cheap?
Less Material to Insure. Plus, motorcycles are driven much less as they are typically a recreational vehicle as opposed to a daily driver.
Other Helpful Tennessee Insurance Guides
Last Updated on by Alexis Karapiperis