Sr22 insurance is only more expensive than a standard auto policy becuase of the traffic violation a person commited.
State insurance requirements in Kansas
The State minimum liability requirements cover bodily injury expenses and property damage for an accident that you are liable for (At Fault). This will pay out $25,000 per person for bodily injury, up to $50,000 per accident and $25,000 for property damage. Kansas also requires a minimum of $4500 for PIP.
Need an SR-22 but do not own a vehicle?
In Kansas, you can purchase a Non Owners or Named Operator policy. This will cover the Named Insured driving any non owned vehicle, for the State Liability Requirements. You can add the SR-22 filing to this policy for a small fee (or free) depending upon the insurance company.
Who has the lowest price on SR-22 (by city) in Kansas
Different companies rates will vary drastically. This is why it is vital to compare multiple rates to get the best deal on your Sr22 insurance.
SR-22 and child support in Kansas
If your license has been suspended for failure to pay child support in Kansas, you may be required to carry an SR-22. The typical amount of time required to carry an SR-22 is 1 year. You must provide proof of insurance to the state in order to reinstate your license.
Cost for SR-22 Insurance (liability) in Kansas
You must carry at least laibility only to acquire an Sr22 filing in Iowa. The average cost will vary based on the insurance provider that you choose.
DUI and SR-22 in Kansas
If you have been convicted of a DUI in Kansas, the first offense will require an SR-22 for 3 years minimum. The 2nd and 3rd offenses can require an SR-22 for 10+ years.
Reasons you may be required to carry an SR-22 in Kansas
DWI (Driving while intoxicated)
Multiple Traffic Offenses
Excessive points violations
Failure to maintain mandatory insurance coverage required by state law
License suspension for failure to pay fines
Suspension of license due to child support
Driving while Suspended/revocation
DUI (Driving under the influence of Drugs or Alcohol)
Too many tickets in short period of time
At Fault accident with no insurance
Some of the reasons you may have to carry an Sr22 are listed above. The most common reasons are DUI, Driving while suspended, and no insurance.
What happens if I let my SR-22 lapse in Kansas?
If your SR-22 lapses, you will need to pay new reinstatement fees, and get your insurance active again. This may re start the required amount of time to carry the SR-22.
How long do I need to carry an SR-22 in Kansas?
The amount of time required will vary upon the type of offense convicted of, and the amount of convictions.
How do I know if I need an SR-22 in Kansas?
Chances are, if your license is suspended you will need an SR-22. Check above in the “reasons I may need an SR-22” for a list of general reasons.
What states don’t require an SR-22?
While most States do, Delaware, Kentucky, Minnesota, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, and Pennsylvania do not require an SR-22.
What if I’m required to carry an SR-22 but don’t own a vehicle in Kansas?
If you do not own a vehicle, but need to carry the minimum liability limits, along with an SR-22, you can purchase a Non Owners Policy.