Do you need SR-22 in Greenville South Carolina? This guide is for you.
Sr22 (sometimes referred to as a certificate of insurance or a financial responsibility filing) is a vehicle liability insurance document required by most state Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) offices for “high-risk” insurance policies.
What is SR-22 Insurance In Greenville South Carolina?
The Sr22 is a form required by the Department of Motor Vehicles when a driver has a DUI offense reported. The form (very similar to the SR1 form which is used to report traffic accidents) is filed by your insurance company showing that you have obtained coverage through them. The SR22 is a proof of financial responsibility that the DMV requires after such traffic incidents. (Most insurance providers require a minor fee of $15 to $25 for filing the SR22.)
In the event of a DUI, the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles will not reissue your driver’s license without an SR22 Form. That means that you cannot only bring your policy number and valid ID to the DMV to have your license returned to you. You also cannot fill in the SR22 by yourself. Your SR22 must be filled out and filed by your insurance provider.
If your previous carrier has dropped you because of your accident, you must then find insurance with SR22 coverage to regain your driver’s license. Once you have found your new insurance provider, your insurance provider will submit the SR22 form to the Department of Motor Vehicles, allowing you to regain your license.
How long must I carry SR-22 in Greenville South Carolina?
Typically, Greenville South Carolina SR-22 Insurance must be carried for three years from the time that your driver’s license is re-issued. That means that once you have completed the 4-month suspension of driving privileges, you then must carry South Carolina SR 22 insurance for three full calendar years (July 2010 to July 2013, for example).
During the four-month suspension period, you may be able to receive a restricted license which will allow you to drive to and from your place of employment. Ask your agent about the procedure for this.
How long will it take for me to be considered a “good driver” again?
If before your DUI you were seen as a “good driver” by your insurance provider, it will take you a full ten years to regain that status. For example, if you received a DUI in August of 2010, your DMV record will continue to show your DUI until August of 2020. Because of a recent law, when you apply for insurance, your auto insurance carrier will have access to your DMV records, so changing carriers will not change your status.
Once you have cleared this ten year period, as long as you do not have further incidents, you will be eligible to return to “good driver” status.
What is Non-Owner SR-22 Insurance?
Some drivers falsely believe that the non-owner SR22 Insurance offers a loophole in the Greenville South Carolina SR22 insurance requirement. This is not a solution, however. Even though you may sometimes be required to carry non-owner SR-22 insurance coverage to retain a license, this is usually only a minimum requirement.
If you own your vehicle or drive the car of someone in your household (for example, your spouse’s vehicle) or if you are provided a vehicle you use frequently (for example, by your employer), non-owner Greenville South Carolina SR22 insurance will not cover you. Non-owner SR-22 insurance coverage will only cover a driver while they are using a third-party vehicle that they do not habitually use and that is not part of the driver’s household.
In fact, even when you are driving the appropriate vehicle, non-owner SR-22 insurance will only cover damage you do to other persons, vehicles, and property—not any damage or injury that may occur to you or the vehicle you are driving. Furthermore, this kind of insurance will only cover damage up to the amount specified in the policy.
Filing an SR-22 Policy
When you get the certificate, you will then be able to get the correct policy based on what the terms of the certificate are. At this point, it will be submitted to the DMV to remove the suspension of your license. If any of the correct steps are not followed, you would be driving with a suspended license. This which are grounds for serious legal repercussions including additional fines, license suspension, revocation and possibly imprisonment.
Contact an insurance broker to have them walk you through the process of getting an SR-22 and an affordable policy so that they can help you. This can help to remind you to renew your policy as necessary and that you never fall out of compliance during the term in which you must keep the certificate active; however, keeping the SR-22 active is ultimately the insured’s responsibility.
Various Forms of the SR-22
There are typically three forms of the SR-22 that can be issued by a particular state. It is therefore important to get the proper type after having been issued an SR-22 form:
- Operator’s Certificate: This type of policy will cover the motorist in the operation of any vehicle, even if not owned by the driver. If a driver does not own a car, he or she would be covered with this type of certificate.
- Owner’s Certificate: This type of policy covers all vehicles owned by the driver. The vehicle must either be listed on the SR-22 or be issued as “all owned vehicles” to be compliant.
- Operators-Owners Certificate: This type of certificate covers all vehicles – owned or unowned by the driver and is, therefore, the most comprehensive of the three types of SR-22 certificates.Based upon your situation, you will need to get one of the certificates to remain compliant with the State as well as with the DMV. The most common certificate is the Operators-Owners Certificate because it ensures that you are covered no matter what type of vehicle you are driving. This is also usually the one to have if you drive a company vehicle at any given time, or could ever find yourself behind the wheel of a car that is not owned by you. A final consideration to avoid driving privileges from being suspended, the SR22 must be in effect for the entire duration as required by law; three to five years for most states, following the suspension. At any time during this period, if the policy is canceled, transferred to a different insurance company or otherwise disrupted, the license could be suspended again, which could also include more penalty and filing fees as well as set the clock for another three to five years to have the certificate in place. Always verify any moving changes with your insurance provider before acting upon them if you are required to carry SR22 insurance.
- Many SR22 insurance companies will work with you to get over the problems that you’ve had to incur. The SR-22 certificate is fairly standard, which is why more and more companies will work with you and offer the certificate. If you cannot find a company that will issue you the certificate, then you must keep looking. If you do not get the insurance policy, then your license will remain suspended until you can get a certificate and policy.
- Choosing the right certificate will help protect you from having your license suspended again for the failure of being compliant. If you are ever pulled over and cannot provide the right documentation because of the way your SR-22 certificate is worded, you could have your license suspended again and have legal proceedings filed against you for failure to stay within State laws.